Colorado Springs Congressman Doug Lamborn to Retire After Nine Terms

Lamborn announces his decision to not seek re-election in 2024

U.S. Rep. Doug Lamborn, a Republican who has represented the Colorado Springs area since 2007, said on Friday that he will not seek re-election in 2024. Lamborn made the announcement on a radio show, citing his desire to spend more time with his family and pursue other opportunities.

Lamborn, 69, is the second-longest serving member of Colorado’s congressional delegation, behind Democratic Rep. Diana DeGette. He has been a staunch conservative and a vocal supporter of former President Donald Trump, voting against his impeachment twice and objecting to the certification of the 2020 election results.

Lamborn has also been a strong advocate for the military and the space industry, serving as the ranking member of the House Armed Services Subcommittee on Strategic Forces. He played a key role in keeping the U.S. Space Command headquarters in Colorado Springs, which was recently confirmed by the Biden administration.

Lamborn’s retirement opens up a safe Republican seat

Lamborn’s decision to retire creates an open seat in Colorado’s 5th Congressional District, which covers El Paso, Teller, Fremont, Chaffee and Park counties. The district is the most Republican-leaning in the state, with a voter registration advantage of more than 20 percentage points over Democrats.

The district has been held by Republicans since its creation in 1973, and Lamborn has never faced a serious challenge from a Democrat. He has, however, faced several competitive primary contests from fellow Republicans, including former state Sen. Owen Hill and El Paso County Commissioner Darryl Glenn.

Colorado Springs Congressman Doug Lamborn

The race to succeed Lamborn is expected to attract a crowded field of Republican candidates, who will likely compete on their conservative credentials and their loyalty to Trump. Some potential contenders include state Sen. Paul Lundeen, state Rep. Tim Geitner, El Paso County Commissioner Holly Williams, former Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams, and former state Rep. Dave Williams.

Lamborn’s departure adds to the turnover in Colorado’s GOP delegation

Lamborn is the third Republican member of Colorado’s congressional delegation to announce that they will not run for re-election in 2024. Rep. Ken Buck, who represents the 4th Congressional District, said in November that he would retire after four terms. Rep. Lauren Boebert, who represents the 3rd Congressional District, said last week that she would run for Buck’s seat instead of her own, following a redistricting process that made her district more competitive for Democrats.

The moves by Buck, Lamborn and Boebert mean that all three of Colorado’s GOP-held House seats will have open races in 2024, creating an opportunity for new faces and fresh voices in the state’s Republican Party. The party has been struggling to win statewide and congressional races in recent years, as Colorado has shifted to the left politically and demographically.

Colorado’s other five members of the U.S. House are Democrats, as are its two U.S. senators. The state’s governor, attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer are also Democrats, giving the party complete control of the state government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *